Too Hot!

I don’t think I could live in a tropical climate long term. I like food too much. 

For the last week or so, it’s been a steady 30 degrees during the day and then around 20 at night. We don’t have air conditioning, so the heat never really abates. 

In these temperatures, neither one of us feels much like cooking. Who wants to heat up the house any further by turning on the stove or the oven? I don’t even feel much like eating or drinking something hot.  

Salad is great, and there are a million ways to make it. It’s a bit early for much in the way of local ingredients but we have used many of the garden herbs. 

Farmers market radishes were the star in this everyday blend of greens. They kicked things up a notch, helped along by the first of the garden arugula and hubbie’s classic French vinaigrette.

We were gifted a beautiful piece of tuna frozen at sea, and it topped our salad perfectly. Chopped chives, parsley and thyme from the garden didn’t hurt either.

A cool and wet spring has meant plenty of dandelions. These greens were “foraged” from my raised beds in our back yard.


Ordinarily we have an early spring by Canadian standards, and so I’m spoiled with early edible blossoms and veggies at the farmers market. 

This year it was cool and wet, so the dandelions and arugula were the first bonuses. The price I paid for scrounging them was a stunning array of mosquito bites. 

I don’t plan on starting a raw diet, so I was happy when I heard the forecast for cooler temps over the next week. Then I can adjust to this scenario and come up with some other meals that work in the heat (besides salads and omelettes). 

Perhaps I’m just getting slow to adjust in my advancing years? I haven’t even managed to unpack my summer outfits yet! Even if one were to say they didn’t believe in climate change (which seems hard unless you never look out a window) one would have to believe in some sort of adjusting, don’t you think? 

What do you cook in the heat? I’d love to hear some new ideas. I’m certainly inspired to check my tropical cookbooks. Watch for new recipes 🙂 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on May 30, 2017, in food, garden, spring, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

