I Had a Hankering

Sunday is a day meant for tinkering. I like to do my tinkering in the kitchen. Sometimes it is more like work (ok, actually it is work – especially during wedding season). Thankfully I love what I do. But sometimes it’s just nice to kick around on one’s own, isn’t it?

My problem was, I had almost not energy. We just returned from our yearly winter break in Mexico, and both of us left fine but woke up at home sick the next day. I have been dragging my butt around for a few days now trying to get back up to speed. An easy recipe seemed like the thing to help. 

My mom used to say there isn’t much a cookie can’t cure. I had a hankering for a chocolate cookie, and found a tantalizing recipe through Yummly. I got to work right away….

 These kitchen-sink delights contain three of my favourite baking ingredients – browned butter, chocolate and dried cherries. And since they are made with whole wheat flour and oatmeal, they could be considered guilt-free, if not healthy. 

I will offer this counsel: Brown Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Cherry Cookies are so full of goodies they are hard to form into a cookie. Do use the recommended ice cream scoop to get them on the pan.  I also used a scraper to flatten them out a bit and corral the few chocolate chips that rolled away from the masses. I got 14 large cookies from one recipe. 

It has taken me two days and a few cookies to get back to full strength but I feel like I’m close to being my normal energetic self again. As usual, Mom was right. 

Watch for more updates from our Mexico travels soon. 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on February 21, 2017, in family, food, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s the spirit my friend! Nothing can keep you two down for long! Blessings for speedy full energy return! The sun is shining!!🤗
    #goodcookies
    #naturallyhealing
    #momwasright

Please share your comments

