The Grocery Adventure 

You know you’re a foodie when an adventure in a foreign country is going to the grocery store. 

We went to the Centro Mart here in Playa del Carmen – it’s like Superstore back home. But we don’t have these kind of things:

Not bottled milk, but bottled rice concentrate. It’s like pulverized rice pudding. And it comes in flavours too, like chocolate and coconut. Full of nutrients!

You might have had tortillas but were they this fresh? I watched while the girl poured in the batter and then minutes later the flattened and toasted tortillas rolled out in the conveyor belt. I got them still warm!

Ceviche anyone? – in bulk. Fill your boots. 

Chicurron, or crackling, as my mom called it when I was a kid. It’s fried pork rind. I don’t think it has any nutrients but if you like crispy things, it’s amazing. 


These papayas are not just in honour of Superboel weekend – they are always this big here. I don’t know whether it’s the sun and heat or soil or what but they are big, and tasty. This half worked out to about $1.50 CDN. 

Altogether we spent $40 – for a monster bottle of vodka and enough mix for the week, 3 large water jugs, some bananas, an avocado, chips and salsa for the week, a few pastries and sandwich fixings for tomorrow’s lunch. 

I am doing the happy dance! Flavours galore, freshness abounding (okay, maybe that’s not a word but you know what I mean) – and I’m on holiday. 

Have to go experience more exotic things. Talk to you tomorrow, or as the locals say,  “Hasta luego!”

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on February 2, 2017, in beverages, food, holidays, snacks, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Foreign grocery stores are awesome – those fresh tortillas must have been awesome!

  2. SO awesome❣I am smiling right out loud!!😄😘☀️🍌🥑🌶🧀🍸🍸

Please share your comments

