Curiosity fuels the fire 

I am so fortunate I was given an environment as a child where being curious was rewarded. So often I wondered, “What would it be like if…?” My parents cheered me on in all kinds of endeavours, many of them silly. But I was allowed to try ideas and know someone had my back.

 I wore striped socks with  patterned skirts and tops, I ran for student council even though I was geeky. I even played basketball despite not being able to walk and chew gum at the same time. I was. It popular at school, in part due to my clothing choices I’m sure. I did not win the election and I didn’t spend much time off the bench in basketball, but I got to have the experiences. 

The one place I have managed to find my stride is the kitchen. My mom let me muck around early on as a helper and I have muddled through ever since. She let me ask why, and find out why not. My curiosity grew as I got older, looking for more flavours as I learned of more cultures and foods. Today we trade new recipes and ideas, inspiring each other. We are never more connected than we share a meal together. 

Today I didn’t get to share a meal with my  mom but we did share a phone call (she’s in Mexico for the winter). Our chat inspired me to try something new for dinner though. 

I cooked pork chops with a new rub I have, called Besar. Thanks to the folks at World Spice in Seattle, I have a stock of exotic spices and blends. I used their suggested recipe for shrimp skewers as a base and made a rice pilaf with flavours echoing the rub. Asparagus and peppers steamed in white wine and honey added just the right touch to round out the plate. 


I was really proud to have Sunday dinner for my hubby, full of flavours and in a combination that was new for him. 

Cheers, Mumsy! This meal is one I hope we can share on your next visit.  

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 29, 2017, in family, food, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

