The Rising 

My hubbie was cooking up a storm in the kitchen this afternoon. We are counting down the days till we leave for our winter holiday and so final preparations are underway. That includes stocking the kitchen for our house and dog sitter.

“The troops”, Simon & Ella


She takes good care of “the troops”, so we like to take good care of her. The room is full of the smells of fresh baking and buns are rising on the counter. 

Chef Martin’s famous scones, this time made with cherries from our tree

Pecan sticky buns on the rise


I will not lie; the house sitter is not the only one to benefit from this effort. I plan to enjoy a spectacular breakfast tomorrow, and I will be returning home from holidays knowing there are goodies in the freezer. 

Ta da!


I shall dream of a hot cup of fresh coffee and a gooey sticky bun with a few morsels of blue cheese. Sometimes it’s the little things that make all the difference. 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 27, 2017, in food, friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I do know your ‘hubbie’ is a professional. Know his talents. Know yours. However having just come off a lemon curd (no corn starch for me!) disturbed jell that ended up as pudding texture in the pie shell, plus apparently a whipped cream stiff peak the same principle (woogly sort of thick stuff), those buns, scones and whatever else the ‘sitter’ is appreciating is hard to surmount. I turned the cascade of ‘failures’ into a chocolate cake lemon fool ice creation that was delicious. Altho do need to tune the egg texture of the curd. Ah, the fun and adventure of trying!

    I won’t give up here in Mexico. Tomorrow I feed the ESL class of students that are supported by donations. Chinese New Year don’t you know. Chinese available ingredients here…laughable. Anyway, tastes close, and the talk will be of Chinese tradition as they do it. That I can’t is really not important. It’s the fact that I try. And they will learn.

    Damn, those buns look so good.

    Have a wonderful holiday. Give my best to your dog/house sitter. Hope you don’t have to pay the person too much!!

Please share your comments

