So Much Better Than Chicken Noodle Soup

I got home from tubing camp this weekend with the sniffles. I shouldn’t be surprised – 24 hours with twenty little girls and a dozen mothers in the middle of winter means a lot of germs floating around. My sinuses can only take so much. winter-germs

Since I’m only ten days away from a diving holiday, I had to resort to drastic measures. I needed a serious remedy. Gargling with salt and using Vicks are par for the course, but chicken noodle soup just doesn’t cut it in circumstances like this. I had to pull out the big guns. It’s time for Hot and Sour Soup.

I learned how to make Hot and Sour Soup in my 20’s, with my first live-in boyfriend. I got a terrible cold and this was one recipe he knew how to cook. Bless his heart, he made it for me, nice and spicy and tangy – and I got better. I’ve sworn by it ever since. Over the years I took the recipe up a few notches, so now I call it Kicked Up Hot and Sour Soup.

So I’m going to sign off here, and bury myself in a huge bowl of steaming goodness. I hope you are keeping healthy. If you’re not, you might want to try some too.

kpl-hot-and-sour-soup

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 23, 2017, in food, friends, recipe, wellness, winter. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good one! Get better quick! xo 🙂

Please share your comments

