The original hacker’s manual

I’m an old-fashioned girl. And, let’s face it, I’m old too. Some of the newfangled stuff out there takes me by surprise, especially when it comes to the language used to explain it. I didn’t know what a “hack” was until my stepdaughter explained the concept to me. Now that I do know, I realize I’ve been a fan of them since before they were called hacks. It’s why I love The Old Farmer’s Almanac.


I’m a sucker for little trivia tidbits and tips on how to make life easier. When I first discovered the Almanac as a young adult, I thought I’d found the mother lode. In those days we didn’t even have a water cooler around which to chat! I just loved the philosophy of their founder, Robert B. Thomas:

“Our main endeavour is to be useful, but with a pleasant degree of humor.”

Did you know that the Farmer’s Almanac is the longest continuously published periodical in North America? The first edition was published in 1792 – when George Washington was President! Its combination of weather forecasts made with uncanny accuracy, gardening guide, recipes, and general advice for around the home has worked for 225 years and they are still going. (The secret formula for weather forecasts is apparently still locked in a little tin box in their head office in New Hampshire.) After all, where else could I find out:

  • A dream of eating stew foretells a reunion with an old friend
  • When the colours orange and blue are placed next to each other, they seem to vibrate
  • The first full moon of the year is called the Wolf Moon. February’s full moon is the Snow Moon (I bet you can guess why!)
  • If you turn clothes inside put before laundering, you can reduce pilling (those annoying little fuzz balls that appear over time)
  • If you see grass in January you should lock away the grain in your granary. (Don’t plant the garden quite yet!)

Are you impressed yet? You can check out more on the Almanac website if you like – and find links to your favourite social media channel too. Just think of all the hacks you can post 🙂

Or you can keep watching here; I’m sure to pepper my posts with little gems from my appointment calendar in the weeks and months to come. 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 18, 2017, in food, history, reference, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

