Pecans and Perseverance

I thought about calling this post “”Sunday Brunch” but as this morning unfolded, circumstances changed my focus. I woke up wanting waffles, and I already had the draft of my Pecan Waffle recipe in my archives. My hubby even had the inspiration to heat up some leftover chicken with a bit of maple syrup. As I read through the recipe and prepared, I was pleased to find I’d made notes reminding us to think of all the details (as I thanked my literary self for mentioning the maple syrup should come out of the fridge…) Things were going well – and then, they weren’t.

One can only multi-task so much, and then things start to implode. I was mixing, and chopping pecans, and heating milk for coffee, and greasing the waffle iron. I put the batter in the iron, but the oil had already cooked off so the waffle stuck. It really stuck! The only saving grace was that my waffle iron has removable plates. That and my hubby’s help in cleaning the plates and reheating them with oil got things back on track. I’m sorry there are no graphic representations of my fiasco; I was too busy trying to get brunch made properly.

We got the remaining waffles cooked and served up the plates. I heated more milk for a second cup of coffee.  It was a delicious meal.

So, my advice to you is this: on a lazy Sunday, take things easy. Don’t be over zealous. Persevere and you will enjoy success.

Chicken & waffles

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 15, 2017, in food, humour, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hallelujah!

Please share your comments

