How to make your own sunshine

This morning was grey and cold. It looked like a dreary day, a drastic change to yesterday’s glorious sunshine. I can handle the bleakness of winter in the sun, but I struggle when the clouds make me slouch and the wind howls. So, I took on a winter version of taking lemons and making lemonade…

When I need cheering up, I bake. This morning I needed something quick and comforting, a bit of winter sunshine. Luckily, I have an old favourite that does just the trick – Cornbread Jam Muffins ! Cornbread Jam Muffins Happy GourmandAs you’ll see if you click on the recipe link, this is something I tested on the hardworking cast and crews I worked with during my years in movie catering in Vancouver. If something can bring a smile to the face of a weary soul at the end of a week working outside in the cold winter rain, then I know it works. And I get to enjoy their smile as well as my own when I taste one!

Muffins are listed in cookbooks as “quick bread” for a reason – they are simple to mix, and don’t take long to bake. If you planned just a little, these could cook while you were in the shower and the coffee was brewing. Extras freeze easily and can be reheated in a toaster oven (microwaves tend to make them tough, but if that’s your method, stick to under 15 seconds for best results).

Even if you save this recipe for a day off, I guarantee they will cheer you up. Go ahead and customize them if you like (the recipe includes a savoury variation, or you can make them without jam if you prefer; they even work if you substitute gluten-free flour). Sharing the goodness of these little gems will give everyone a good start to the day.

As I write this, I notice the sky has cleared a bit over us and even the grey skies over the lake look less menacing. I am breathing deeper and a smile is creeping across my lips. It appears my little dose of sunshine worked its magic quite well!

rabbit-hollow-winter-view

 

 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 12, 2017, in food, friends, recipe, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

