Short and sweet

I had intended to write about Friday afternoon cocktails today, but that outing was kaiboshed, so I shall hold that idea for another posting. I do have a redeeming thought, brought about by a dinner inspired by our purchases from a recent visit to Granville Island Market in Vancouver (one of my most favourite foodie haunts).

We had a winter picnic tonight, enjoying treats such as raw milk cheeses and fresh exotic fruits. I read an article in SAVEUR magazine recently about a newly appointed cheese from Switzerland called L’Etivaz (appointed in that they have designated a style and protocols for the making of said cheese). I looked for it, and was thrilled to find it at Benton Bros., the cheesemonger. It was deliciously nutty, and went very well with the tomato chili jam I had.  Martin splurged and got a beautiful mango – it cost $12.38 ! He made a delectable salad with jicama, cilantro and an Asian vinaigrette. A bottle of local wine gave us the chance to toast our good fortune, while bringing back memories of my time in France – Quails’ Gate’s Cailleteau, a light red in the style of Beaujolais Nouveau.

cheese-and-wine-picnic

It was a wonderful way to round out the holiday season. After all, today was Epiphany, the 12th night. I made a traditional torte, just as I remembered from France. (It sounds even more grand when you say “Galette des Rois“, I think. “King Cake” is what they call it in New Orleans, where they eat it at Mardi Gras.)

twelfth-night-torte

 

Here’s to celebrating every day of the year in its own way. Life is short, why not make the most of it?

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on January 6, 2017, in Christmas, events, food, history, recipe, reference, wine, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. YOU should be so proud!

  2. Really enjoying these daily tidbits. Can’t believe the price of your mango however…outrageous! Haven’t bought one in a while but am buying huge honey pineapples at about 39P, about 2$C. Limes come in at 9P/k and local tomatoes at the street market are 10P/. Sometimes can’t have any of it but what the hey.

    Your ‘Galette des Rois’ looks beautiful and that cut piece delectable…wonderful thing when your mouth waters! And think your last statement is full of the wisdom of a life well lived. Your Gramps would be so proud. L/M

    • Wow! The joys of living in Mexico during the winter are obvious, at least to this foodie. Thanks for the compliment on living life well – I do enjoy it, and I love sharing the secret (keep it simple!) I often smile and think of Gramps when enjoying goodies – and there’s another idea for a post, thanks!

Please share your comments

