True Love

A timeless topic, love is, considered by most to be essential to human survival and one of the things that distinguishes all kinds of relationships. Love has brought together and torn apart soul-mates throughout history and fairy tales. Anthony and Cleopatra, Romeo and Juliet, Cinderella and her prince, Beauty and the Beast, Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, Napoleon and Josephine, Ross and Rachael… (okay, some were more powerful than others). The rest of us deserve a feeling that makes the world stop for a moment, don’t we?

We use the word these days to show enthusiasm for material possessions more often than we mention it to those close to us. Popular culture demonstrates this: famous characters like Carrie Bradshaw and her New York girlfriends discussed sex with people and their love for shoes. Enthusiasm is not to be discouraged, but love should not be made light of, either. One needs to make sure that “love” means making the most of the moment. If one is to use the term. Perhaps that is a theme for the day that commemorates the history of love, to think seriously about how we can honour this essential part of life.

My parents met on Valentines’ Day, so I might have a biased opinion on the notion of romance. They would have romantic dinners and breakfast in bed. They would give each other cards, “just because”. There were lovely gifts, and sticky notes, and much laughter and love. They would dance in the kitchen and kiss in the hall. They were serious about loving each other.

My parents on their 13th anniversary, before heading off to a romantic dinner...

I am happy that many of my childhood memories about romance have become part of my romantic life. I was fortunate enough to marry a chef, so decadent things like chocolate desserts are not lacking in my life. We love to dance together any chance we get. Every time I go away – to Girl Guide camp, or on a business trip – there are sticky notes with love messages in my suitcase.

I love my husband, and I know he loves me. We do both love food, and music. All the usual suspects will be a part of our Valentines’ Day festivities. Not because we want to support a commercial holiday, but rather because we never want to waste an opportunity to celebrate our love. As Winnie the Pooh liked to say, “It’s better with two”.

I wish everyone the chance to be happy in love. May this saint’s day inspire you to let your heart speak its mind.

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in friends, holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

