And now we look back…

It’s that time of the year when we all look back on our accomplishments, review our goals and think about the highlights of the past 52 weeks. (After all, we are still hung over from too much food, drink and conversation – we need a bit of time for reflection.There is only so much Boxing Day shopping one can stand.)  Here are some of my gems from 2011:

I am a newsletter junkie. Being also a trivia geek, I love all the tidbits I learn from my various specialty missives received regularly in my Inbox. The best find this year was from a site called Urban Daddy, who sends you the coolest of the cool, the most exclusive gizmos and gifties imaginable. Here is their review of highlights from 2011, if you are keen to know about say, a bikini that can charge your iPhone or a vitamin that can help you recover from the worst of hangovers. For foodies, my best recommendation is Chowhound, the collection of boards and articles from the Chow website. This is where you can learn that you can soften your butter at the same time as you take a shower (bring it in the bathroom with you!), or ask where to find “a cookie recipe that will knock (my) new hubbie’s socks off”. (there were 99 replies – she will be set for life!!) If you want something more work-oriented, how about the Hump Day Humour Gram? This is a guide on how to ensure work doesn’t get too serious by sharing ideas on being silly and successful.

I am proud of my garden, as that is my summertime passion. At Rabbit Hollow, we have a third of an acre, and I use as much as possible to grow things. We now have an edible fence made of  fruit trees and various berries (I made “Fence Berry Jam” this year). We also have a veggie garden full of heirloom varieties of beets, peas, beans, squash and of course tomatoes. Living in the Okanagan is considered paradise in Canada as we actually have a growing season long enough to ripen things ! This year I also added a sensory garden next to my husband’s outdoor kitchen, so that I can show visitors what some of the less common herbs and spices look and smell like, and I can introduce them to the concept of pairing flavours on the spot. I can’t wait till spring comes and I can watch the new sprouts come up. Ella, my Chocolate Lab, is my best helper, sniffing out new blossoms and sampling whenever possible. (She loves the golden raspberries and nasturtium flowers best.)

veggie garden Rabbit Hollow

height of summer splendour

"fence berries"

 

I am proud of sharing myself this year. I have had some great times with my Girl Guide pal, Claire, and the girls we lead- it’s been 6 years, phew! My hubbie and I also shared a great deal of bounty from the Rabbit Hollow harvest. There are jars still left of damson plum jam, and tomato sauce and pickled carrots and various chutneys, even after the many gift bags for friends and relatives.

I am also proud to share my blog. My goal for 2012 is to make time to read more of other people’s work, as I love all the ideas floating out there. I like the idea that we can share our opinions and comment on others’, and not focus on “voting someone off the island”. As I get older, I have found that I have less patience for ill-mannered pastimes like reality TV (that might be due to menopause, which reminds me – if the subject holds any interest for you, check out a blog by two lovely ladies I know called Hot-Flashes)

Well, time to pour another drink, I think, and reflect on what I can come up with for a New Year’s resolution. If you have any good suggestions, I am open to ideas 🙂

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and I love sharing my adventures with others.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in food, friends, garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please share your comments

