Mondays are easier with cookies

Mondays can be tough. I wouldn’t say I hate them, but they can sometimes be harder than other days of the week. And as much as it’s been proven that an apple a day keeps the doctor away, I much prefer my Mom’s old adage as something to live by:

There’s not much a cookie can’t cure.

Being a foodie, I love all kinds of cookies, but the best element is having it be homemade. While the occasional Oreo or Girl Guide cookie is certainly something I enjoy, I would have to say the nuances of a “hand-crafted” cookie are sublime by comparison. There are many types of cookies, but for a regular Monday I like the “kitchen sink” variety – something that can cover a range of cravings and touch my heartstrings. Friends are great at helping out when things get tough, but if they are not at hand or if like me, your best pals live in different time zones, then cookies can keep your morale up quite nicely 🙂

I have a few cookie recipes already listed, but I have just posted a recipe that is the poster child for the kitchen sink variety. I love classic compilation books and Caren McSherry has written a couple over the years from her time in the Vancouver food scene. When I went looking for something to whip up tonight, a recipe that was called “Absolutely D’licious Cookies” seemed like just the thing! Having eaten a few with my cup of tea, I can now proclaim they do the trick. I am entirely ready to face not only Tuesday, but the rest of the week with vim and vigour!

cookie monster in bed happiness

 

About happygourmand

I am a professional gourmande - a lover of life. Not only food and drink, but life in general. I love experiencing life to its fullest, and sharing my adventures with others. I am also a mentor, focusing on service. I have worked with customers for years and most recently I am working with learners of English as a foreign language. You can check out my other blog, WOW Service Mentor, on Wordpress.

Posted on April 29, 2014, in food, friends, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Please share your comments